Skip to content
RulesUpdated

Carry-On Rules for Canadian Airlines: Fares and CATSA

Compare Canadian airline bag allowances, current WestJet UltraBasic conditions, CATSA screening and NEXUS fees.

Canada's major carriers range from full-service airlines with generous carry-on allowances to ultra-low-cost carriers that charge extra for anything larger than a personal item. Here is what each carrier allows, plus CATSA security rules and tips for Canada's busiest airports.

Air Canada

Air Canada is Canada's largest carrier and a Star Alliance member.

Carry-on allowance:

  • 1 standard carry-on bag: 55× 40× 23 cm, no published numerical weight cap; unaided overhead stowage
  • 1 personal item: 33× 43× 16 cm (no weight limit stated)

Notes: Basic tickets bought from 3 January 2025 have personal-item-only restrictions within Canada and to/from the US, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean; international onward and qualifying status/card exceptions apply. Standard is a different fare. See the reviewed Air Canada guide and the ticket.

WestJet

On eligible fares, WestJet publishes one main bag up to 56× 36× 23 cm and one personal item up to 41× 33× 15 cm. The main bag must be light enough to stow overhead unaided; the public page does not state a 10 kg cap.

UltraBasic normally includes only the personal item. Its named exceptions include Europe/Asia travel and Extended Comfort purchased for all flights in one direction, including connections. Do not treat Econo as personal-only or assume every Silver member receives an exception. Verify the booking; a non-exempt UltraBasic main bag at the gate requires checking with applicable bag and service fees. See the WestJet guide.

Porter Airlines

Basic includes only one personal item up to 43× 33× 16 cm. Standard, Flexible, Freedom, Navigate and Ultimate also include one main bag up to 55× 40× 23 cm. The current public allowance and FAQ do not give a numeric weight cap; that is not permission for unlimited weight.

Porter’s FAQ describes Basic Express, purchased at web check-in or the airport on the travel day, as adding the standard cabin bag. Confirm availability and price. Ordinary Basic excludes GatePorter; that service is also not a way to carry oversized luggage.

Read the Porter guide and choose the Basic fare checker where applicable.

Flair Airlines

One 43× 33× 15 cm personal bag up to 7 kg is included. A 55× 40× 23 cm cabin bag up to 10 kg needs a separate purchase or a bundle that explicitly includes it.

The new Basic bundle is personal-only, but Flair’s page still contains an older comparison using Basic for the cabin-included bundle now called Plus. Check the baggage line in your booking. The exact fee depends on your flight and purchase stage; an over-limit cabin bag must be checked rather than accepted merely because you pay.

Check Flair’s free personal bag or check a purchased cabin bag.

Air Transat

Where included, the cabin bag is 55× 40× 23 cm; the personal item is 43× 31× 13 cm. The reviewed policy gives no numerical cabin weight cap, but you must lift the bag overhead without assistance.

Eco Budget/Promo excludes an ordinary overhead bag to/from the South, Florida and within Canada. The fare page explicitly includes one for Europe, Africa, Peru and Brazil. Club Class includes one cabin bag plus a personal item; its two-bag benefit concerns checked baggage. Read the Air Transat guide and your actual booking.

CATSA security: liquids and electronics

At CATSA checkpoints, ordinary liquids, gels, aerosols and non-solid food go in containers up to 100 ml/100g in one clear resealable bag up to 1 litre. Prescription and essential non-prescription medicines, breast milk and specified infant/medical supplies have declared exceptions; do not send necessary medicine to checked baggage solely for exceeding 100 ml. Other departure and connecting checkpoints need separate review.

CATSA’s current equipment guidance distinguishes regular non-CT lines, where large electronics are removed, from CT lines, where they can stay inside. Follow the actual checkpoint; avoid copying one removal rule to all Canadian airports.

Verified Traveller and NEXUS

NEXUS members are among CATSA’s eligible Verified Travellers, with benefits depending on checkpoint and category. Domestic/international, transborder and front-of-line experiences differ. Do not assume every airport, terminal or travel party receives the same benefits or faster queues. Consult CATSA’s current checkpoint list and present the required identification; additional or regular screening remains possible.

CBSA currently lists a non-refundable NEXUS application processing fee of 120 USD and membership validity of 5 years; children under 18 are free. This is not CAD 50. Application does not guarantee approval or a processing time.

Plan airport time and connections

For YYZ, YVR or YUL, check the airline’s actual terminal, required arrival/check-in times and current airport guidance. No morning peak, faster-lane claim or post-security facility is guaranteed here. CATSA recommends two hours for domestic and three for US/international departures; account for your booking and extra procedures.

For connections, confirm airport/terminal changes, baggage collection, entry eligibility and any new security screening. A shared bag size alone does not authorize every segment; restrictive fare entitlement and weight conditions still apply.

Size Comparison: Canadian Carriers

AirlineCarry-On DimensionsWeight LimitFree Carry-On?
Air Canada55× 40× 23 cmNo numeric cap; unaided overhead stowageBasic route/date exceptions apply
WestJet56× 36× 23 cm where includedNo numeric cap published; unaided stowageUltraBasic restriction and named exceptions
Porter55× 40× 23 cm on eligible faresNot established on reviewed page43× 33× 16 cm; Basic personal-only
Flair55× 40× 23 cm with booked cabin allowance10 kg; personal bag 7 kgPersonal bag included; cabin purchase/bundle required
Air Transat55× 40× 23 cmNo numeric cap; unaided overhead stowageDepends on fare and route

For multiple carriers, compare the exact fare entitlement and each dimension for every leg. A common size alone does not establish cabin permission; use the route tool and verify each booking.

Sources and scope

Source-based research; no hands-on test or specialist review claimed.

  • Air Transat55×40×23cm cabin and43×31×13cm personal sizes; no numerical weight cap; Eco Budget route restrictions.

    Air Transat paragraphs only; indexed official full-text source. Other carriers and airport sections not refreshed by this partial update.

    Carry-on baggage dimensions; storage; Eco Budget

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Air Canada standard has no numerical cabin weight cap; Basic is a separate restricted fare with route/date exceptions.

    Reused Air Canada source review2026-09-28; only Air Canada comparisons corrected.

    Standard carry-on policy; Economy Basic fares

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Free personal bag 43×33×15 cm and 7 kg; purchased cabin bag 55×40×23 cm and 10 kg. An over-limit cabin bag must be checked.

    Flair section, FAQ and comparison row only. Other carriers remain outside this partial update.

    Personal Item; Carry-on bag; FAQ 3–4

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Main 55×40×23; personal 43×33×16; Basic exception; safe stowage; liquids and infant diaper bag

    Porter-operated flights; public page does not state numeric bag weight.

    Fare lists; size allowances; GatePorter; additional allowances; liquids

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Basic Express on travel day adds standard carry-on; cannot pay to exceed standard dimensions/weight

    Basic Express is a specific product, not any priority or checked-bag payment.

    Baggage: carry-on allowance; Basic/GatePorter; extra carry-on

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Currentpublished 40–80 relevantread:56× 36× 23main/41× 33× 15personal,unaidedstowage no 10 kg. UltraBasicpersonalonlyexceptEuropeAsia orExtendedComfortALLflightssingle direction; no allSilverexception.

    Currentpublished 40–80 relevantread:56× 36× 23main/41× 33× 15personal,unaidedstowage no 10 kg. UltraBasicpersonalonlyexceptEuropeAsia orExtendedComfortALLflightssingle direction; no allSilverexception.

    westjet

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Actual 78–125 read:ordinary 100 ml/100g one 1Lbag; prescription/essentialnonprescription/breastmilk/infant/medical exceptions declared; not alltopicalmeds 100 ml.

    Actual 78–125 read:ordinary 100 ml/100g one 1Lbag; prescription/essentialnonprescription/breastmilk/infant/medical exceptions declared; not alltopicalmeds 100 ml.

    liquid

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Whole 67lines read:ordinarynonCT largeelectronicsout,CTleavein;liquidmedexceptions/babybreastmilk scoped.

    Whole 67lines read:ordinarynonCT largeelectronicsout,CTleavein;liquidmedexceptions/babybreastmilk scoped.

    electronics

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Whole 219lines read:actualcheckpoint/category/benefit differences; no allNEXUScheckpoint or guaranteedfasterqueue; NEXUS/GlobalEntryetc actualeligiblegroups, not genericPreCheckbadge.

    Whole 219lines read:actualcheckpoint/category/benefit differences; no allNEXUScheckpoint or guaranteedfasterqueue; NEXUS/GlobalEntryetc actualeligiblegroups, not genericPreCheckbadge.

    verified

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Actual 36–39 read:5 years 120USDnonrefundableapplicationfee,under 18free; noCAD 50.

    Actual 36–39 read:5 years 120USDnonrefundableapplicationfee,under 18free; noCAD 50.

    nexus

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

Frequently asked questions

What is Air Canada's carry-on size limit?

Air Canada standard allowance is one 55× 40× 23 cm bag plus a 43× 33× 16 cm personal item, without a published numerical weight cap; the bag must be liftable overhead without assistance. Basic has route/date restrictions and qualifying exceptions. Standard is not Basic.

Does Flair Airlines include a free carry-on?

Flair includes one 43× 33× 15 cm personal bag up to 7 kg. A 55× 40× 23 cm cabin bag up to 10 kg requires a separate purchase or an included bundle allowance. Bundle names have changed, so confirm the actual booking.

Are ordinary liquids and medicine handled identically by CATSA?

No. Ordinary 100 ml/100g containers go in one 1 litre bag; prescription, essential non-prescription and specified infant/medical exceptions must be declared.

Must I remove my laptop at every Canadian checkpoint?

CATSA distinguishes non-CT removal from CT electronics staying in the bag. Follow the actual lane and staff.

What is the current NEXUS application fee?

CBSA lists 120 USD non-refundable processing,5 year membership and free applications for children under 18. Approval and processing time are not guaranteed.

Check if your bag fits

Compare your carry-on dimensions with your airline’s allowance.

Check my bag →