Skip to content
ListUpdated

The Complete Carry-On Size Guide for 2026: All Airlines

Carry-on dimensions and weight limits for 30+ major airlines in one table. Ryanair, easyJet, Delta, Emirates, and more — the cheat sheet for 2026.

Carry-on size limits vary more than most travelers expect — the difference between the smallest allowance (Ryanair's free 40×30×20 cm) and the largest (Southwest's 61×40×25 cm) is enormous. Getting this wrong means paying gate bag fees that can exceed the original ticket price on some budget carriers.

This guide covers the carry-on and personal item dimensions for over 30 major airlines as of 2026.

How to Read This Guide

Dimensions are listed in centimetres as Height ×Width ×Depth (H×W×D), measuring the total external size of the bag including handles, wheels, and pockets.

Weight limits listed are for the carry-on bag (not personal item), where enforced.

"Free" means included without additional purchase. Budget carriers often charge for the larger cabin bag size — the free tier is the bag you get without paying extra.


European Airlines

Budget Carriers

AirlineFree Carry-OnPaid/Priority Carry-OnWeight Limit
Ryanair40×30×20 cm55×40×20 cm (Priority)10 kg (Priority)
easyJet45×36×20 cm (under seat)56×45×25 cm (with entitlement)15 kg per bag
Wizz Air40×30×20 cm55×40×23 cm (Priority)10 kg for each allowed bag
Vueling40×20×30 cm55×40×20 cm (paid)10 kg (paid)
Jet 256×45×25 cm plus 40×30×20 cm small item—10 kg main bag

Notes:

  • Ryanair: The free "small personal bag" must fit under the seat. The overhead bin is reserved for Priority passengers and those who paid for a cabin bag. This is the most restrictive free tier in Europe.
  • easyJet: easyJet includes one 45×36×20 cm underseat bag. A 56×45×25 cm overhead bag needs the relevant purchased option or eligible benefit; each bag has a 15 kg maximum and must be carried without assistance. Seat selection alone does not establish the larger-bag entitlement.
  • Wizz Air: Similar to Ryanair — free tier is under-seat only. Overhead bin access requires WIZZ Priority or a paid bag add-on.

Network Carriers

AirlineCarry-On SizeWeight LimitPersonal Item
British Airways56×45×25 cmLift unassisted; no numeric limit stated in cabin policy40×30×15 cm cabin policy; calculator conflict
Lufthansa55×40×23 cm; check Basic entitlement8 kg40×30×15 cm
Air France55×35×25 cm12 kg40×30×15 cm
KLM55×35×25 cm12 kg40×30×15 cm
Swiss55×40×23 cm8 kg40×30×10 cm
Austrian Airlines55×40×23 cm8 kg40×30×10 cm
Iberia56×40×25 cm10 kg40×30×15 cm
ITA Airways55×40×23 cm8 kg40×30×15 cm
TAP Air Portugal55×40×25 cm10 kg40×30×15 cm, 2 kg
Finnair55×40×23 cm; Superlight excludes main bag8 kg combined40×30×15 cm, included in total
SAS55×40×23 cm8 kg; check fare40×30×15 cm

Notes:

  • British Airways: the cabin-specific policy does not state a numeric weight limit and requires lifting the bag unassisted. It lists a 40×30×15 cm personal item, while a calculator on the same page shows a larger size; confirm before relying on the larger result.
  • Lufthansa, SWISS and Austrian: similar main-bag dimensions do not establish identical fare entitlement or personal-item dimensions; check the booked operator and fare.

US Airlines

US airlines generally do not enforce weight limits on carry-on bags. Size limits are the primary constraint.

AirlineCarry-On SizeWeight LimitPersonal Item Size
Delta Air Lines56×35×23 cmNo limit43×33×18 cm
American Airlines56×36×23 cmNo limit43×25×22 cm
United Airlines56×35×22 cmNo limit43×25×22 cm
Southwest Airlines61×40×25 cm (approx)No limit43×33×18 cm
Alaska Airlines56×36×23 cmNo limit43×33×18 cm
JetBlue56×36×23 cmNo limit43×33×18 cm
Spirit Airlines56×36×23 cm35 lbs (15.9 kg)45×35×20 cm
Frontier Airlines56×36×23 cmNo limit45×35×20 cm

Notes:

  • Southwest Airlines: Published dimensions vary by source. Southwest is notably lenient in enforcement. Their bags go in the overhead bin for free, which distinguishes them from Spirit and Frontier.
  • Spirit and Frontier: Budget carriers that charge for overhead bin carry-on bags. The "personal item" fits under the seat and is free; the overhead bag costs extra.

Middle East Airlines

AirlineCarry-On SizeWeight LimitPersonal Item
Emirates55×38×22 cm7 kgNot specified
Qatar Airways50×37×25 cm7 kgNot specified
Etihad Airways56×36×23 cm7 kgIncluded inside the single Economy bag
Turkish Airlines55×40×23 cm8 kg40×30×15 cm, 4 kg
flydubai55×38×20 cm7 kg25×33×20 cm within allowance
Air Arabia55×40×20 cm7 kg main25×33×20 cm/3 kg;10 kg combined including duty-free

Notes:

  • Weigh and measure your packed bag; this guide has no measured regional enforcement ranking.
  • Qatar Airways: Business/First normally have two pieces sharing 15 kg; US departures have a piece-count exception. Economy normally has one 7 kg bag. Check the reviewed airline guide for route conditions.

Asia-Pacific Airlines

AirlineCarry-On SizeWeight LimitPersonal Item
Singapore AirlinesThree-dimension sum≤115 cm7 kg40×30×10 cm listed additional item
Cathay Pacific56×36×23 cm7 kg combined40×30×15 cm small item; New Zealand exception
Japan Airlines (JAL)55×40×25 cm AND 115 cm total10 kg combinedUnderseat; numeric box not published
ANA (All Nippon Airways)55×40×25 cm AND 115 cm total10 kg combined40×30×20 cm
Korean Air115 cm total OR 55×40×20 cm10 kg combined40×30×15 cm
Qantas (international Economy)56×36×23 cm7 kg—
Air New Zealand55×40×23 cm7 kg—
AirAsia56×36×23 cm7 kg combined40×30×10 cm within total
IndiGo standard55×35×25 cm7 kg; regular Stretch 12 kgAdditional 3 kg; Lite only one 7 kg bag

ANA and JAL allow one main bag plus one personal item sharing 10 kg in all cabins. Main bag: 55×40×25 cm AND 115 cm total, including wheels and handles. On domestic aircraft below 100 seats: 45×35×20 cm / 100 cm total. ANA personal item: 40×30×20 cm; JAL requires underseat fit without a published numeric box.


Key Takeaways

The Safest Universal Carry-On Size

A 55×35×20 cm bag can suit several main-bag allowances, but it is not a universal cabin size. It exceeds many free under-seat allowances and some main-bag dimensions. Check dimensions, weight and fare inclusion independently.

If you exclusively fly US carriers, a bag up to 56×36×23 cm is the standard and fits all major US airlines.

Budget Carrier Warning: Free vs Paid Sizes Are Very Different

On Ryanair, Wizz Air, easyJet, Spirit and Frontier, there is a major difference between what you get free and what requires a paid upgrade. Always check whether your fare includes an overhead bin bag or just an under-seat bag:

  • Ryanair free: 40×30×20 cm (under seat only)
  • Ryanair paid/Priority: 55×40×20 cm (overhead)

The difference is the difference between bringing a day bag versus a week's worth of clothes.

Weight Limits Are Enforced More in the Middle East and Asia

Do not rely on an assumed airport weighing rate. Check the carrier, route and fare allowance, and weigh your packed bag before travel.

When Airlines Measure Differently

Some airlines state bag dimensions that include handles and wheels in the measurement; others measure only the main compartment. The safest approach: measure your bag with the handle extended and wheels included in the height measurement.

Personal Items: The Extra Bag Strategy

Most airlines allow one personal item in addition to the carry-on. This is typically sized at 40×30×15 cm to 43×33×18 cm — large enough for a laptop bag, backpack, or large handbag. Used strategically, a personal item can carry a significant amount of the belongings that would otherwise go in the carry-on.

See our guide on personal item vs carry-on for strategy on maximizing this allowance.


Quick Reference: Most Common Sizes

Size CategoryFits This SizeExample Airlines
Example main-bag size55×35×20 cmCheck each airline and fare
Selected European limits55×40×23 cmLufthansa, Swiss, SAS; check fare
Standard US56×36×23 cmAmerican, United, Delta, JetBlue
flydubai main bag55×38×20 cmflydubai; 7 kg main allowance
Ryanair Priority55×40×20 cmRyanair (paid)
Ryanair free40×30×20 cmRyanair (under seat only)
Southwest61×40×25 cmSouthwest only

This guide is updated regularly. Airline policies change — always verify your specific airline's current rules before travel.

Baggage sources

1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · [10](https://app.jet 2.com/en/faqs?category=hand-luggage&topic=baggage-and-sports-equipment) · 11 · 12 · 13.

Official policy

Sources and scope

Source-based research; no hands-on test or specialist review claimed.

  • Ryanair: 40×30×20 cm free underseat bag.

    Ryanair dimensions only; remaining sections were not reverified in this review.

    Cabin Baggage

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Iberia and Iberia Express comparison correction

    Iberia and Iberia Express comparison correction

    Dimensiones y peso / Resumen rápido

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Qatar cabin or checked allowance and route/combined-weight scope; removal of unsupported enforcement or fee claims

    Scoped Qatar correction only; unrelated carrier and destination claims not recertified

    Fare table; Baggage guidelines; Additional items; Partners

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Qantas route, per-item and combined allowance correction; related scope as stated in article.

    Only the identified correction; no full review of unrelated claims.

    Relevant allowance table / product scope

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Cathay baggage comparison corrected.

    Only identified Cathay-related claims; no full review of unrelated carriers or destinations.

    Pages 6–8: cabin and checked baggage; Policy A Hong Kong/New Zealand and Policy B other flights; page 5 batteries

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Main 55×40×25/10 kg; personal 40×30×15/2 kg; Business North America one versus other listed routes two

    TAP/TAP Express rules; partner-operated segments require operator check. Route/season fee tables are not universal prices.

    Hand baggage rules; class/destination piece table; personal item; excess fees

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • 55×40×23 cm and 118 cm total, Q300 depth 22 cm; Economy 1×7 kg; premium cabins and named eligible status 2 bags sharing 14 kg, max 10 kg each, plus small personal item. Checked baseline 23 kg/158 cm.

    Identified Air New Zealand and dimension-calculation correction only; unrelated claims not recertified.

    Carry-on allowances; fare and tier allowances; small personal item; checked-in allowances

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • 55×40×23 cm main; 40×30×15 cm small; Economy/Premium 8 kg combined; Superlight no main; Business one main12 kg combined; €60 gate collection.

    Only the named airline claims corrected in this article; unrelated carriers and destination details are not newly certified.

    Ticket-type allowance table; excess carry-on; travelling with children; extra items

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • One 55×40×23 cm cabin bag up to 8 kg + 40×30×15 cm personal item. Wheels and handles included. No general extra Business cabin bag is published.

    Carrier allowance and directly related fare, airport-collection and family corrections only; destination schedules and unrelated airlines are not recertified.

    Dimensions, additional info, restrictions

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Main bag 56×45×25 cm including wheels/handles, 10 kg; personal 40×30×20 cm with no numeric separate weight; liquids 100 ml/1 litre; hold-carriage and infant exceptions.

    Scoped related-guide baggage correction; not a full destination or airport review.

    Hand Luggage; first two paragraphs; operational hold carriage; infant paragraph

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Small bag 45×36×20 cm; entitled large bag 56×45×25 cm; each up to 15 kg and self-carried. Seat selection alone does not establish the large-bag benefit.

    Scoped related-guide baggage correction; not a full destination or airport review.

    Cabin bag allowances; All customers table; easyJet Plus and Inclusive Plus

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • 55×40×23/8kg main;40×30×15/max18L small;Light-only main-bag purchase;route/time fee variation;excess goeshold.

    Scoped related-guide cabin-policy correction; unrelated destination and airport details not recertified.

    Size and weight; underseat item; additional bag and fees

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Light main only outsideEurope;Standard/Flexone;Premium/BusinessonewithinEurope,twooutsideEurope.

    Scoped related-guide cabin-policy correction; unrelated destination and airport details not recertified.

    Expanded Economy, Premium and Business accordions

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Cabin allowances and route exceptions

    Scoped official cabin review; other topics not recertified.

    Cabin allowances and route exceptions

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • All fares include Economy 1×7 kg or Business 2×7 kg /14 kg total, 55×38×20 cm; personal 25×33×20 within allowance; AED200/USD55 gate excess per item plus possible local charges; conditional infant and stroller allowances.

    Scoped carrier correction only; unrelated destination/security/other-carrier claims not recertified.

    Economy; Business; personal items; boarding gate; infants; stroller FAQ

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Economy1×7kg56×36×23;Business/First/Residence2pieces12kg combined, US1piece12kg; extra premium small bag23×39×19/5kg. Basic excludes checked baggage; excess cabin checked with charges; AUH liquid100ml/1L.

    Scoped carrier correction only; unrelated destination/security/other-carrier claims not recertified.

    Partner-flight FAQ cabin paragraphs; Basic fare; toiletries

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Cabin bag 55×40×20 cm/7 kg; personal item 25×33×20 cm/3 kg; 10 kg combined including duty-free. Gate excess AED100 per piece may apply; infant under2 extra underseat3 kg bag.

    Air Arabia current FAQ; personal and infant bags may require declaration/tagging

    Cabin allowance; excess; infants; personal items FAQs

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Singapore Economy one 7 kg main bag with three-dimension sum115 cm; listed40×30×10 cm personal item.

    Reused completed Singapore source review for encountered comparison row only

    Cabin allowance table; additional items

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Economy one 8 kg bag; Business two bags each 8 kg; 55×40×23 cm. Personal item 40×30×15 cm/4 kg. US departures Business second cabin bag checked free. Infant cabin one 8 kg; Star Alliance Gold does not add cabin entitlement.

    Scoped airline/transfer corrections only; unrelated destination facts and schedules not recertified.

    Cabin baggage rules; personal item; US departures; infants; liquids

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Main 55×35×25 cm/115 cm,7 kg; additional personal article 3 kg; infant 7 kg cabin, no checked allowance, one free stroller/pram.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Free Baggage Allowance; infant; liquids; connecting flights

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Stretch/Stretch+ main 12 kg one piece. Cabin bag may move to hold and return via conveyor. Guitar soft case allowed; violin checked; special fees differ from dedicated page.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Stretch customers; cabin space; musical instruments; special baggage

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Infants travel on adult lap; no separate infant seat. Fees follow route/service table.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Infant seat and fee questions

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Guitar soft case; other listed instruments checked. Additional seat for large accepted items. Dedicated handling fees conflict with general FAQ.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Special Baggage; Musical Instruments

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Lite includes only one 7 kg cabin bag, no checked bag; airport/onboard upgrades retain original Lite baggage. Specific terms prevail over general policy.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Terms 1, 3, 4.7 and 9; baggage and upgrade FAQs

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • One 56×36×23 cm cabin bag and one 40×30×10 cm small bag are included, 7 kg combined.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    AirAsia Flights: All you need to know about our cabin baggage policy; Answer

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • All cabin classes list one 56×45×25 cm cabin bag and one 40×30×15 cm underseat item. No numeric cabin weight limit is stated; unassisted lifting is required.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Your baggage allowance > Hand bag and Cabin bag, for each cabin class

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Extra hold-bag prices depend on destination and bag count. Lap infants have no checked-bag allowance on hand-baggage-only Basic fares; children may check two listed equipment items free.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Extra, heavy or large bags?; More about your baggage > infant and child allowances

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Cabin size and per-piece weight by class, 40×30×15 cm personal item, short-/medium-haul Basic exclusion, status and regional exceptions, operating-carrier scope and EU liquids guidance.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Carry-on baggage regulations according to travel class; Special regional regulations and exceptions; FAQs; Transportation of fluids

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Short-/medium-haul Basic allows one personal item; advance cabin-bag purchase and eligible status exceptions; long-haul Basic includes a cabin bag.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Baggage in Economy Basic Fare; additional services; FAQs (long-haul and status)

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Infant checked allowance and fare exceptions, children's allowance, one-item child-equipment benefit and pocket-buggy conditions.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Babies (0–2 years); Children over 2 years; For each child, one item; Pocket Buggy

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Small bag 40×30×20 cm and 10 kg; Priority adds a 55×40×23 cm trolley with its own 10 kg limit.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Free carry-on bag; Trolley bag; SIZE ALLOWANCE

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Checked options are 10, 20, 26 and 32 kg, up to six pieces, with a maximum of one 10 kg piece; maximum dimensions 149×119×171 cm.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Types of checked-in bags; Size allowance; Excess baggage

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Lap infant extra bag is 40×30×20 cm and 10 kg; child equipment and extra-seat exceptions apply.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Luggage for children; Luggage for infant; Baby traveling in a car seat onboard

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • One lap infant aged 14 days to under 2 per adult; purchased extra seat removes infant fee and extra infant-bag allowance.

    Scoped correction of named baggage claims in this article; unrelated product, airport and destination content not recertified.

    Opening age rules; Seats for infant; Car Seat Safety Requirements

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • One main bag and one personal item share 10 kg in all cabins; 55×40×25 cm AND total 115 cm including handles/wheels. Personal item 40×30×20 cm.

    Scoped encountered carrier claim correction; unrelated destination and other-carrier claims not recertified.

    Free carry-on allowance / class-independent size and weight table; notes

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • One main bag and one personal item share 10 kg in all cabins; 55×40×25 cm AND total 115 cm including handles/wheels. Personal item must fit under seat; no numeric box published.

    Scoped encountered carrier claim correction; unrelated destination and other-carrier claims not recertified.

    Free carry-on allowance / class-independent size and weight table; notes

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Economy/Premium 10 kg combined and 40×30×15 cm personal item; First/Prestige two pieces sharing 18 kg. Size uses 115 cm total OR 55×40×20 cm including handles/wheels.

    Scoped encountered carrier claim correction; unrelated destination and other-carrier claims not recertified.

    Allowance by booking class; personal item; duty-free rules

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

Check if your bag fits

Compare your carry-on dimensions with your airline’s allowance.

Check my bag →