Under the seat
Personal Item
Allowed (size not specified)
One small personal item in addition to the main allowance; must fit under the seat. No numeric dimensions or weight are published on the reviewed page. Unknown is not unlimited.
Under the seat
Allowed (size not specified)
One small personal item in addition to the main allowance; must fit under the seat. No numeric dimensions or weight are published on the reviewed page. Unknown is not unlimited.
Overhead cabin bag
55×40×23 cm; L+W+D ≤ 118 cm
21.7×15.7×9.1 in; L+W+D ≤ 46.5 in
Weight limit: 7 kg (15.4 lb)
Economy, including seat-only: one 7 kg main bag plus a small personal item. Premium Economy, Business Premier/Luxe: two bags, 14 kg combined, no single bag above 10 kg; eligible connecting flights included. Q300 depth maximum 22 cm. The checker does not select aircraft or total two bags: verify both separately.
Measure the full external bag size, including wheels and handles.
1 cabin bag
2 cabin bags
Premium Economy: two bags, 14 kg combined, no single bag over 10 kg. The checker evaluates one bag at a time; verify the total separately.
2 cabin bags
Business Premier: two bags, 14 kg combined, no single bag over 10 kg. The checker evaluates one bag at a time; verify the total separately.
1 cabin bag
Seat-only Economy includes the ordinary cabin bag and small personal item; it excludes checked baggage.
No reliable fixed price is listed here. Check your booking for the cost of adding a bag; an unlisted price does not mean it is free.
Official baggage policyCheck cabin bag dimensions, weight and personal-item limits separately. A bag has to pass every published limit at once; being under the length and width limit does not help if the depth, weight, or fare-specific allowance is tighter.
Editorial signal only. Measure the packed bag and verify the operating carrier's rule.
Liquid screening depends on departure and transit airports. Check the airline restricted-items page and airport instructions; do not apply an international 100 ml rule to every domestic flight.
Lap infant under two: free on domestic New Zealand flights, 10% of adult fare internationally. One carry-on bag, no checked-bag allowance, plus two eligible child-equipment items free. A separate infant seat requires the applicable child fare and approved restraint; no infant own seat in Business Premier.
Two eligible child-equipment items are free, including seat-only fares. A compact single stroller up to 55×40×23 cm/7 kg may travel in the cabin on eligible international/domestic jet flights, space permitting. NZ5000–5999 flights require checking it. No guaranteed aircraft-door return.
A car seat may be one of two free checked child-equipment items. Cabin use requires an approved, fitting restraint and appropriate booked seat; no car seats in Business Premier. Booster seats are not accepted for cabin use.
Children aged 2–11 receive the adult allowance for their ticket plus two eligible child-equipment items. Partner flights can differ.
Source-based research; no hands-on test or specialist review claimed.
55×40×23 cm and 118 cm total, Q300 depth 22 cm; Economy 1×7 kg; premium cabins and named eligible status 2 bags sharing 14 kg, max 10 kg each, plus small personal item. Checked baseline 23 kg/158 cm.
Air New Zealand-operated flights; premium connecting-flight scope as published. No numeric personal-item cap or universal excess fee inferred.
Carry-on allowances; fare and tier allowances; small personal item; checked-in allowancesSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Domestic lap infants free, international 10%; infant one cabin bag/no checked bag; two child-equipment items free. Children 2–11 adult allowance.
Air New Zealand family travel; child fare/approved restraint required for eligible infant own seat.
Infants; children; baggage allowancesSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Compact stroller 55×40×23 cm/7 kg on eligible jet/international service, space permitting; NZ5000–5999 must check. Approved fitting car seat only, no Business Premier or booster seat use.
Three stroller accordions read in browser; no universal door-return or cabin guarantee.
Strollers; compact strollers; car seats and child restraintsSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Dedicated fare table lists flexichange one checked bag, while current general baggage page lists two.
Unresolved public-source conflict retained explicitly; ticket confirmation required.
seat+bag; flexichange; flexirefundSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Prepaid extra bags only for solely NZ-ticketed/operated journeys, max three checked bags total; over 32 kg not accepted as an ordinary checked bag.
Prices depend on journey; no universal online/gate pair.
Eligibility; maximum bags; size and weightSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Restricted items and screening require item, airport and country checks.
No universal domestic liquid rule or blanket ban on all installed lithium batteries inferred.
Before you pack; airport screeningSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Koru Gold/Platinum/Black and Star Alliance Gold members can receive two main bags sharing 14 kg, maximum 10 kg each, plus a personal item. The checker has no status selector. Premium cabin results check one bag, not the 14 kg combined total. Checked baggage is separate: official domestic fare and general baggage pages conflict on flexichange (one versus two checked bags); confirm the e-ticket.
Rules can change. Always verify with Air New Zealand before flying.