Skip to content

FAAirline policy hub

FlySafair Carry-On Rules

Official baggage policy

Under the seat

Personal Item

Included

40×20×15 cm

15.7×7.9×5.9 in

One additional slimline laptop bag OR handbag, published as 40×15×20 cm, under the seat. A separate weight is not stated.

Overhead cabin bag

cabin bag

1 cabin bag

56×36×23 cm

22×14.2×9.1 in

Weight limit: 7 kg (15.4 lb)

Free main bag 56×36×23 cm and 7 kg. The official Luggage page repeats 25 cm depth in its lower overweight section, conflicting with its main hand-luggage section and Packing page (23 cm); use 23 cm and ask FlySafair before relying on 25 cm. Space constraints may require hold transfer.

The source does not say whether wheels and handles are included, so measure the full external size to be safe.

Fares & cabin classes

Basic Economy

1 cabin bag

56×36×23 cmUp to 7 kg

Free hand luggage is included, including Lite: one main bag up to 7 kg plus one small handbag OR slimline laptop bag. Checked baggage is separate.

Baggage fees

No reliable fixed price is listed here. Check your booking for the cost of adding a bag; an unlisted price does not mean it is free.

Official baggage policy
How to use this policy

Check cabin bag dimensions, weight and personal-item limits separately. A bag has to pass every published limit at once; being under the length and width limit does not help if the depth, weight, or fare-specific allowance is tighter.

Editorial signal only. Measure the packed bag and verify the operating carrier's rule.

FlySafair liquids policy

FlySafair says liquids are permitted in hand luggage on domestic South African flights, subject to airport security. Do not extrapolate this to international travel: check departure and transit airport LAG restrictions.

Frequently asked questions

What is the FlySafair cabin bag size?

FlySafair allows a cabin bag up to 56×36×23 cm (22×14.2×9.1 in). The source does not state whether wheels and handles are included; measure full external size to be safe.

Does FlySafair have a weight limit for carry-on?

Yes — the maximum carry-on weight on FlySafair is 7 kg (15.4 lb).

Does FlySafair allow a personal item?

Yes. FlySafair allows a personal item up to 40×20×15 cm. It must fit under the seat in front of you.

How strict is FlySafair about bag size?

FlySafair has medium caution enforcement. Editorial signal only. Measure the packed bag and verify the operating carrier's rule.

Additional notes

Sources and scope

Source-based research; no hands-on test or specialist review claimed.

  • Free 56×36×23 cm, 7 kg main bag plus handbag OR laptop bag 40×15×20 cm; lower section conflicts at 25 cm depth.

    Main section retained and conflict explicit; checked purchase prices not cabin penalties.

    Hand Luggage; Overweight Bags

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Confirms 23 cm depth and personal item; domestic liquids permitted subject to security; Lite hold baggage is separate.

    2024-dated page reviewed against newer Luggage page; no unconditional R250 price asserted.

    Hand luggage; Liquids; Hold Luggage

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

Oversized/overweight hand luggage must travel in the hold and can incur charges; paying does not increase the cabin size or weight limit. The newer Luggage page quotes checked-bag purchase prices, while the older Packing article quotes R250 for some airport hold transfers; these are not modeled as one universal cabin fine. Confirm the exact charge for your booking. A full cabin may require transfer even when the bag meets the allowance.

Keep exploring

Rules can change. Always verify with FlySafair before flying.