Southwest Carry-On Size: 24×16×10 in & Personal Item
Southwest allows a free 24 × 16 × 10 inch carry-on and one personal item. See how to measure your bag and how checked-bag fees now differ by fare.
Southwest allows one carry-on bag and one personal item per ticketed passenger at no charge, including on its Basic fare. Its current carry-on policy gives a 24 × 16 × 10 inch maximum for the carry-on.
Check your Southwest cabin bag with your own measurements. For the smaller item, the published requirement is under-seat fit; the policy does not specify one universal personal-item box.
Measure the whole carry-on
The size limit includes wheels, handles, and attachments. The carry-on goes in the overhead bin; the personal item goes under the seat in front of you. A small suitcase or roller bag can be your carry-on. A purse, briefcase, laptop case, or small backpack may serve as your personal item if it fits under the seat.
Southwest's published carry-on policy does not state a general weight cap. That is not a promise that an unsafe or unmanageable bag will be accepted. Measure before leaving: Southwest advises checking a bag at the ticket counter if it is too large or if you have more than the permitted carry-on and personal item. A pet carrier counts as one of those two items.
Overhead-bin space and seating
Southwest now uses assigned seats, rather than its former open-seating and A/B/C-position system. Basic passengers generally receive a seat assignment at check-in unless an eligible tier or card benefit allows earlier selection. Boarding order may affect remaining overhead-bin space; it does not determine your seat. See Southwest's assigned-seat guidance.
Keep medication and essentials in the personal item in case your carry-on must be checked when overhead space is limited. Ask the gate agent where a checked carry-on will be returned; do not assume it will return at the jet bridge.
Checked bags are a separate decision
A free carry-on does not mean free checked bags. Southwest applies checked-bag charges to Basic, Choice, and Choice Preferred fares unless an eligible fare, tier, or card benefit changes the allowance. Choice Extra and A-List Preferred include two standard checked bags free on eligible Southwest flights; A-List and eligible Rapid Rewards Credit Cardmembers receive the first standard bag free, subject to terms. Standard checked bags are limited to 50 pounds and 62 linear inches.
Check Southwest's fare rules, checked-bag policy, and Optional Travel Charges for your reservation. Partner airlines may have different cabin-bag rules.
Packing check
- Measure your carry-on including protruding parts; keep it within 24 × 16 × 10 inches.
- Confirm that your personal item fits under the seat.
- Check your fare and benefits if you plan to check a bag.
- For any partner segment, read that airline's baggage rules before departure.
Check your packed bag
| Bag | Published measurement | Where it goes |
|---|---|---|
| Carry-on | 24 × 16 × 10 in; exact conversion 60.96 × 40.64 × 25.40 cm | Overhead bin |
| Personal item | Must fit under the seat; no universal box is assumed by our checker | Under the seat |
Check your Southwest cabin bag or check every airline on your route. For a suitcase going into the hold, see Southwest checked-bag limits and fee conditions. The cabin checker does not price checked baggage.
Travelling with a lap child
A lap child has no independent carry-on or checked-bag allowance. Southwest separately allows free checked carriage of child equipment. The infant page describes one stroller and one restraint per child, while the equipment page says per ticketed customer: confirm the number of free sets if travelling with several children. A purchased child seat and an approved restraint are required for onboard restraint use; when used during the flight, that restraint does not count toward the carry-on limit. See the infant policy and equipment conditions.
For a connection, compare airline carry-on sizes and weight conditions, then check each operating carrier.
Sources and scope
Source-based research; no hands-on test or specialist review claimed.
One carry-on up to 24 x 16 x 10 inches and one underseat personal item are permitted free.
Southwest cabin baggage only
Carryon bags and personal itemsSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Checked-bag fees and free allowances differ by fare and benefits.
Southwest fare and tier checked-bag eligibility only
Fare Information and Rules; checked bag benefit termsSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Southwest uses assigned seating; Basic seats are generally assigned at check-in.
Southwest seating process only
Assigned Seat SelectionSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
One free carry-on up to 24×16×10 inches plus one personal item; checked-bag fees vary by fare, date and benefits.
Cabin entitlement and standard checked-bag thresholds; no universal personal-item dimension box asserted
U.S. Mainland travel tables; notes 1–3Source review: · Codex (AI source review)
24×16×10 in including wheels/handles/attachments; personal item under seat; no numeric weight or personal box.
Full indexed official article text reviewed; direct DNS unavailable. Partner rules can differ.
Carryon bag; Personal item; Measure carefullySource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Assigned seating from27January2026; Basic normally assigned at check-in, with tier/card exceptions.
Seat selection and boarding only; not a guarantee of overhead storage.
Assigned Seating; Basic fare footnote15; card benefitsSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
A lap child has no separate carry-on or checked allowance; equipment free-carriage rules and gate-return instructions.
Full indexed official article; direct Help Center DNS unavailable. Additional equipment/return detail in separate stroller page, whose per-ticketed-customer wording differs from per-child wording here.
Lap Child Policy; Checking Strollers and CRS; final baggage paragraphSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Approved restraint used with a purchased child seat is outside the carry-on item count; gate default return is baggage claim unless jet-bridge return requested.
Indexed official text. Multiple-child equipment count requires confirmation because this page says per ticketed customer.
Carryon Baggage; Checked BaggageSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Frequently asked questions
What is Southwest's carry-on size limit?
Does Southwest charge for a carry-on?
Does Southwest publish a carry-on weight limit?
Are two checked bags also free?
Check if your bag fits
Compare your carry-on dimensions with your airline’s allowance.