Under the seat
Personal Item
Allowed (size not specified)
One personal item is allowed and must fit under the seat; the official page does not publish a universal dimension box.
Under the seat
Allowed (size not specified)
One personal item is allowed and must fit under the seat; the official page does not publish a universal dimension box.
Overhead cabin bag
61×40.6×25.4 cm
24×16×10 in
No weight limit stated
24×16×10 in including wheels, handles, and attachments. One carry-on per passenger.
Measure the full external bag size, including wheels and handles.
1 cabin bag
Southwest Basic includes one carry-on and one personal item at no charge. Checked-bag charges are separate.
No reliable fixed price is listed here. Check your booking for the cost of adding a bag; an unlisted price does not mean it is free.
Official baggage policyCheck cabin bag dimensions, weight and personal-item limits separately. A bag has to pass every published limit at once; being under the length and width limit does not help if the depth, weight, or fare-specific allowance is tighter.
Editorial signal only. Airport behavior varies; the published allowance still governs.
At US TSA checkpoints, ordinary liquids use containers up to 3.4 fl oz (100 ml) in one clear quart-sized resealable bag per passenger. Medical and infant-feeding exceptions have separate screening requirements. A US quart is not exactly one litre; check departure/transfer rules outside the US.
One eligible child under two may travel on the lap of each adult aged 18 or older, free domestically; international government taxes/fees apply. The lap child has no separate carry-on or checked-bag allowance. Check minimum-age and proof-of-age requirements with Southwest.
Free checked stroller carriage is available when travelling with a child. The infant page says per child; the equipment page says per ticketed customer, so confirm multiple-child/equipment combinations. Gate-checked items normally go to final baggage claim; request jet-bridge return from the agent when handing them over. Portable/folding cribs count as ordinary bags.
Free checked child-restraint carriage is available with an accompanying child, subject to the same per-child/per-ticketed-customer wording difference as strollers. A purchased child seat and an approved restraint are needed for onboard use; a restraint used during the flight does not count toward the carry-on limit. Cabin position and approval requirements still apply.
Source-based research; no hands-on test or specialist review claimed.
One free 24×16×10 in carry-on and one under-seat personal item, including on Basic. Conditional checked fees are separate.
Current full fee page; no universal checked or cabin-upgrade quote is inserted into structured fees.
U.S. Mainland tables; notes1–3Source review: · Codex (AI source review)
Cabin dimensions include all attachments; no numeric weight or universal personal-item box is published.
Full indexed official article text reviewed; crawler reported two days old. Direct Help Center DNS failed in web and Chrome. Storage and operator differences retained.
Carryon bag; Personal item; Measure carefullySource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Lap-child eligibility, no independent cabin/checked allowance, free child equipment and ordinary treatment of portable cribs.
Full indexed official article text reviewed, crawler today. Equipment count says per child; differing equipment-page wording preserved rather than certifying multiple sets.
Lap Child Policy; Checking Strollers and CRS; final baggage paragraphSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Equipment drop-off and return; approved restraint used with a child ticket excluded from cabin item count.
Full indexed official article text reviewed, crawler today. Says per ticketed Customer rather than per child. Gate default is baggage claim unless jet-bridge return requested.
Carryon Baggage; Checked BaggageSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Carrier acceptance discretion and international lap-child government taxes/fees.
Current official contract independently supports safety/acceptance and international tax scope; equipment details remain sourced to Help Center articles.
58th revision effective2026-09-24, sections7a–b and8j(3)Source review: · Codex (AI source review)
US ordinary-liquid quart-bag/container rule and medically necessary liquid exception.
Official indexed TSA text; direct retrieval unavailable. Infant-feeding exception corroborated in previously reviewed TSA What Can I Bring list; US quart not equated to one litre.
Before Traveling; Packing; medically necessary liquidsSource review: · Codex (AI source review)
Official pages differ on whether free child-equipment sets are counted per child or per ticketed customer. Confirm multiple-child combinations with Southwest. A lap child has no independent baggage allowance.
Rules can change. Always verify with Southwest Airlines before flying.