Skip to content
RulesUpdated

Hawaiian Airlines Carry-On Rules & Bag Size 2026

One carry-on 22×14×9 in, plus a personal item. Current numeric weight limit unknown. Size, family rules, AS flight code and checked-fee scope explained.

Hawaiian Airlines currently allows one carry-on and one personal item. The carry-on must fit 22×14×9 inches, including wheels and handles, and must not exceed 45 linear inches. The metric conversion is 55.88×35.56×22.86 cm, with 114.3 cm total. The current page applies this allowance on all aircraft.

The published allowance

ItemSizeWeight / count
Main carry-on22×14×9 in; max 45 linear inOne; numeric weight not stated by the current page
Personal itemMust fit under the seat; numeric box not establishedOne additional item; numeric weight unknown

You must be able to lift and stow your own bag. An unknown numeric weight is not a promise that any weight will be accepted. Do not apply the former CarrySizer 45×35×25 cm box, an invented 17 cm depth or an extra First Class main bag. Standard carry-on is included for Saver/Main/First under the current checked-baggage table.

Measuring and planning a connection

Measure the packed exterior, including wheels and handles. A bag marketed as a US carry-on can still exceed a stated side; compare actual measurements in the bag checker. The personal-item checker cannot confirm a box the source does not publish. Choose a small item that can be safely stowed under the seat and confirm uncertain dimensions with the carrier.

A compliant bag does not guarantee overhead space. Follow crew instructions if a bag needs checking and keep essential documents and any items prohibited in checked baggage with you. Another operating carrier can set different rules on a connection; use the route checker and verify each segment.

Hawaiian brand and AS flight code

The carrier's 22 April 2026 passenger-system announcement says all flights now use AS codes while the Hawaiian brand continues. Choose Hawaiian by name when checking its branded service; a shared flight prefix does not establish every cabin or fare detail. This change does not mean Hawaiian has ceased operating.

Travelling with children

Under the current shared Alaska/Hawaiian family policy, a lap infant does not have a separate carry-on allowance: a diaper bag counts toward the accompanying adult's allowance. Domestic US lap-infant travel is free; international pricing depends on itinerary.

A child car seat and stroller may be checked free at the counter or gate, with separate conditions for stroller wagons. An FAA-approved restraint occupied by the child can be used in the cabin subject to seating and fit rules. Do not infer that every purchased-seat car seat is accepted, or that checked equipment always returns at the aircraft door.

Fees and security

Checked-bag prices vary by route, ticket date and card/status/resident-program eligibility. Do not assume a free interisland checked bag for every passenger or a universal extra-cabin fee. Confirm the actual booking and the departure/transfer security rules for liquids and restricted items.

Primary sources reviewed 30 September 2026 by Codex AI. This is a source review, not firsthand enforcement testing or human verification.

Sources and scope

Source-based research; no hands-on test or specialist review claimed.

  • One carry-on 22×14×9 inches including wheels/handles, max 45 linear inches, plus one personal item; applies on all aircraft. Current page states no numerical weight.

    Current Hawaiian-branded ordinary cabin allowance; no unlimited-weight or guaranteed storage claim.

    Carry-on luggage size; maximum 45 linear inches; one carry-on and personal item

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Occupied FAA-approved child restraint and eligible stroller exceptions are distinct from an adult personal-item allowance.

    Cabin exceptions and safe stowage; no automatic permission for every purchased-seat car seat.

    Carry-on luggage exceptions

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Lap infants have no separate carry-on allowance; diaper bags count toward adult allowance. Domestic US lap infants travel free.

    Current shared policy explicitly covers Alaska and Hawaiian; no blanket international fare claim.

    Lap infant baggage allowance

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • A child car seat and stroller may be checked free at counter or gate; stroller-wagon conditions apply.

    No aircraft-door collection guarantee.

    Free checked car seat and stroller

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Hawaiian brand remains; all flights now use the AS IATA flight code.

    Flight identity transition; no cessation or new search exclusion.

    22 April 2026 PSS transition; flight codes

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

  • Standard carry-on is free for Saver/Main/First. Checked baggage fees and exemptions vary by route, ticket date and card/status/resident-program eligibility.

    No route-independent excess-cabin fee or unconditional free interisland checked bag.

    Checked baggage fee tables; tickets on/after 10 April 2026

    Source review: · Codex (AI source review)

Frequently asked questions

What is the current size?

One carry-on up to 22×14×9 inches including wheels and handles, and no more than 45 linear inches, plus one personal item.

Is there a weight limit?

The current allowance page does not state a numerical weight limit. Treat it as unknown; you must be able to lift and safely stow the bag.

Does First Class include two carry-ons?

The current ordinary allowance is one carry-on plus one personal item, not two main bags.

Check if your bag fits

Compare your carry-on dimensions with your airline’s allowance.

Check my bag →